Grandma’s French Silk Pie

My grandma is fantastic. My family has almost always lived in the same town as she has, and she and my grandpa even lived with us for a while when I was little. She’d put rolled up socks on the ends of our feet like hats, draw little faces on our skin, and we’d pretend our feet were people. This is one of many found memories I have of this woman who is so completely compassionate, caring, interested, and wise. 

Many memories are related to her cooking and baking. Snow-on-plowed-ground cookies, mashed potatoes, roast beef, cinnamon rolls, jello salad, and French silk pie. I loved going over to her house for lunch or dinner. She’s shared her recipes with me as I’ve gotten older, and it’s my attempt at snow-on-plowed-ground cookies was pitiful. I just can’t make things like she can. One of the to-dos on my summer/early fall to-do list was to attempt her French silk pie. 

Besides the missing chocolate curls (I didn’t have what I needed to make them), I’m finally pleased with the results of one of her recipes! It felt really nice to put on an apron, turn on music, and bake for the first time in a while. And who knew French silk pie was so easy?

Grandma Askren’s French Silk Pie

1 pie shell
1 cup sugar

3/4 cup butter 
2 squares unsweetened chocolate
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 eggs
1/4 pint whipped cream

1. Cream sugar and butter. Add melted chocolate and vanilla.
2. Add one egg at a time, beating approximately five minutes after each.
3. Pour into prepared pie shell. Top with whipped cream.
4. Garnish with chocolate curls! 

2 thoughts on “Grandma’s French Silk Pie

Leave a Reply

