I got a job!


Last might, my husband and I went out for pizza and a celebratory s’mores milkshake at one of our favorite places because we had reason for joy and celebration… I have a job!
In about two weeks, I’ll begin training for a position that allows me to recruit, train, and license foster parents! I was offered the position at the agency where I worked last year. While there, I loved the chances I go to interact with and support foster parents, so I’m really, really happy to be able to do this full-time.

The job search process wasn’t the easiest… Multiple times there was miscommunication. I seemed to have missed a couple opportunities just barely. But then one day, within a couple hours, I went from having no options to having multiple options. There is no doubt in my mind that God is teaching this girl perseverance and calmness amidst the ups and downs of life. 

____

One more thing: I wrote a guest post for Adrian* at Life Before the Bucket! He’s called for guest posts on the topic of “living life to the fullest,” so I wrote one on social work, foster care, and adoption. Here’s a bit of it:

I will not boast in my plans, but instead keep an ear out for God’s. And even when I think I know His plans for my husband and me, I will continually submit them to Him. I will have constant conversations with Him. I will whisper to Him when I feel the uncomfortableness creeping in.

“Come now, you who say, ‘Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit’— yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, ‘If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.’” [James 4:13-15]

What is life if I don’t feel uncomfortable sometimes? What is life if I don’t feel stress and worry once in a while? What is life if I don’t say, “if the Lord wills”?

To me, this is living life to the fullest.

*Adrian and I volunteered at The Home of God’s Love in Taiwan together. It’s been way fun to keep in touch via all sorts o’ social media.

6 thoughts on “I got a job!

Leave a Reply

