help a family get to ethiopia

I don’t remember how I ever came across Lori’s blog. It was early in my adoption blog obsessing. Unlike many families who just post cute pictures of their kids, Lori writes in a way that is so thoughtful, eloquent, and interesting. She works with African immigrants and refugees in her community. And, she lives in Portland. She’s said I remind her of herself when she was my age… and well, she reminds me of how I want to be when I’m her age.

Needless to say, I admire this woman.

The Rooneys are adopting a 5-year-old girl from Ethiopia to be a big sister to their son Abe. To put it lightly, older children (over the age of 3) are not nearly as desirable as babies when it comes to adoption. But there is just as great a need to find homes for these children. Adopting an older child brings special challenges. Lori understands all this and is choosing to open her home and heart for this little girl.

Did I say I admire her?

Ethiopia adoptions now require two trips — one to appear in court, and one to go to the US Embassy and bring the child home. I don’t know for sure, but I think this would make travel costs well over $5,000. To absorb some of these costs, Lori’s friend, Autumn, is donating a custom-made doll (pick the skin, hair, initial). To be entered to win the doll, donate $5 (or more!) by clicking on the “donate” button on the right hand side of Lori’s blog. Please consider helping this wonderful family!

Here’s a video of the Rooney’s son, Abe, seeing pictures of his big sister for the first time. Totally cute:

One thought on “help a family get to ethiopia

Leave a Reply

