Open Doors and Chain Reactions

illustration by Rube Goldberg

A friend text messaged me the reference for this verse right before I headed into an important meeting yesterday.

7“And to the angel of the church in Philadelphia write: ‘The words of the holy one, the true one, who has the key of David, who opens and no one will shut, who shuts and no one opens.

8“‘I know your works. Behold, I have set before you an open door, which no one is able to shut. I know that you have but little power, and yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name.

[Revelation 3:7-8]

Though I admit it’s taken without context here, it was — it is — meaningful to me.

I’ve come to view life in many ways as a set of open doors placed before me by God. The doors are different. Some of large and easy to get through. I choose to pass through those without much thought. Some are small. I think about these ones for a while. I pray over these doors. Some take a long time to get through. And each door opens up to another door. The passing through of one door affects the passing through of the next.

I’ve thought of it as a line-of-dominoes sort of reaction. But dominoes are all the same, and the speed at which they knock down each other is really quick.

This analogy is more fitting for a Mouse Trap board game sort of chain reaction. Or this sort:

Lots of variation. Some easy steps. Some more complex. There’s a start and an end, but no consistent speed to the movement. One continuous take. Overall one really awesome, highly-orchestrated effect.

And God is having an such an obviously awesome, highly-orchestrated effect on my life and choices and path these days. And it’s fitting that the music video begins with a row of dominoes, because of a long time, I hadn’t realized the magnitude of Christ’s spectacular plan for me. But it’s big, folks. And I’ve just been sitting in quiet awe lately amidst this realization.

More details on the latest door He’s opened next week…

Read an article on the ideas and filming of the music video.

[click into actual post for embedded video]

2 thoughts on “Open Doors and Chain Reactions

Leave a Reply

