Another Letter

Dear Older Kids,

This is the letter that’s hard to write.

You have struck me in a way I would have never expected. Truthfully, I didn’t think about you once during the months I waited to come to Taiwan. But I really believe I’ll think about you just as often as the babies.

Silly hairstyles will always remind me of you, Ing Zhou. Cooking classes will always remind me of you, Eli. Disgusting eggplant will always remind me of you, Austin. Loud “whats” will always remind me of you, Jenna. The Pride & Prejudice soundtrack will always remind me of you, Chayn Hwei. Ke$ha will always remind me of you, Wei Hau. Shrimp fishing will always remind me of you, Gwo Hwei. Side pokes will always remind me of you, Cho Rho. Sorry, Sorry, Sorry will always remind me of you, Aiden.

And I wish you each had parents who knew these things about you. Who were reminded of you daily — even hourly… Because you are each so unique and special. You would be the pride of most parents.

It breaks my heart to hear bits and pieces of your pasts. You may struggle in school, but I know it’s due to results of early hardships. And your scars? I don’t like to think about how many separate occasions those came from. The thought of you wandering around with long, matted hair? Don’t want to think about it. Your bodies skinny because of a rice-only diet? Nope.

The Home has given you hope. You are given opportunities, and you are well taken care of. Here you’ve felt love, and you’ve been taught of the love of our Lord. Please accept it readily. And share it with others. I’ve seen the way you love the babies. Even you, middle school boys! Love all those around you.

You really have a lot going against you, but at the same time, you have Almighty God going for you. Pursue his Truth and make it your own. Your testimony will be remarkable.

I’ll miss you a lot and pray for you often…

Leave a Reply

