Sounds

There have been days when I was tempted to look at booking an earlier plane ticket home. And there have been days when I thought I could live here forever.

And then there was last night at dinner, where I bit back tears just sitting there and watching the kids at my table talk.

I’m almost down to two weeks left here. I know I’ll be ready to head home to all that awaits me, but I know I’m going to miss it here, too.

Sounds I’m going to miss:

+ Chayn Hwei playing classical piano songs

+ Smacking lips sucking on a pacifer

+ Smacking lips sucking on thumbs, index fingers, and pinkies

+ Lullabies at night with Abbey when we can’t sleep

+ Worship CDs during playtime with the babies

+ Ing Zhou’s laugh

+ Jenna’s “no” and “I don’t know”

+ Rain pouring down on the pavement outside

+ Mopeds zooming up the driveway of the Home

+ Gwo Hwei’s “yo yo yo”

+ All of the babies’ giggles

+ The kids’ voices loudly singing hymns in Chinese

4 thoughts on “Sounds

  1. Natalie, I’ve loved getting your blog updates. Thanks for being so transparent. May God bless you for your time there!! God is certainly using you as you love those kids–they won’t remember it, but I’m sure it will make it possible for them to bond with adoptive parents. What a blessing!

  2. Natalie I love how you write and what you are doing. I am so glad I finally got connected and am blessed by reading your blog. I will be praying for you even in the short time you have left!

Leave a Reply

