Community

I love these people. And I truly miss them.

My four years at Iowa State may forever be the marker of a changed life. These friends (and several others not pictured) were the best community for which I could have prayed. Whenever I read verses on fellowship and community, I think of them. Loving one another, building each other up, encouraging each other, growing together.

And I know I didn’t appreciate them at the time as much as I should have. Being a bit outside of that community for two months now has made me realize. What I would give to have them all share this experience caring for these babies with me. But we have had the most wonderful experiences together already. (Example: a wonderful weekend at my family’s cabin where the above picture was taken. Other examples: Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Louisiana, Salt retreats, late Thursday nights, late any-night-of-the-week nights)

Yes, I miss them. But I’m moving to a new city in August. And I pray diligently for a local community of friends to add to my already wonderful Iowa friends. I know the ways I thrive when in fellowship with others. I know how I need to be regularly challenged by others. And I know He will provide what I need. And yes, though certainly introverted, I need community.

Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another. [Proverbs 27:16]

And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus. [Philippians 4:19]

Read a post from before I knew I was leaving them.

Leave a Reply

