Grad School Registration

In non-Taiwan related news… I’m completely registered for my first semester of grad school classes at Washington University in St. Louis! Besides a brief freak out as I watched the classes I wanted fill up and the internet service at the Home go down, registration was a smooth process.

I’ll be taking Social Work Practice with Individuals & Families, Research Methods, Social Justice & Human Diversity, Human Behavior, and Social Welfare Policies & Services.

And my schedule is just as I wanted it! I’ll have class from 9 am to 3 pm on Monday and Tuesday, and from 9 am to 12 pm on Wednesday. Here come Wednesday afternoons, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays of studying, exploring St. Louis, road-tripping to Kansas City, visiting home, and getting involved in my church’s goings on.

I’ll start looking for my first field work placement/internship as soon as school gets rolling at the very end of August. On my mind for possibilities: an international adoption agency, an autism treatment center, and an elementary school.

Similar to the way I stand in awe of the easy path the Lord paved for me to come to Taiwan, I am in awe of the path to social work grad school. It’s going to be a great two years.

4 thoughts on “Grad School Registration

  1. Woo-hoo!!!! The first day of school will be here before you know it.

    If you ever have a spare moment and would like to met up with us and Titus when you are in Kansas City let us know. I know Kevin and I won’t be in Taiwan before you leave… 😦 But, we would love to meet you and thank you in person for all you have done for our little boy.

    Continuing to pray for all of you at THOGL.

  2. Natalie, I think you will really enjoy grad school! You will do great in whatever you choose to do. I believe you have chosen the right field! You sure seem to have heart for kids and babies and are soooo compassionate! 🙂
    I’m wrapping up my mba and the teaching is so much more integrated and real life than lectures and notes like in undergrad! (Of course it’s been many years since my undergrad, ha ha!)

  3. Hey there, you don’t me, and judging by the date you leave Taiwan, there is a good chance we will never actually meet either. But I wanted to drop a note and tell you how much I have enjoyed reading your blog! The pictures, the descriptions, the encouragement . . . I am going to be coming to the orphanage on the 3rd of August (just going to miss you!) and staying till the 3rd of November. I have been really nervous about coming (and super excited!) and reading your blog has made me less nervous and more excited. Thank-you for chronicling your experiences for the rest of us.

  4. Kick-butt schedule! What a nice change of pace that will be for you…and what an opportunity to do all the things you love!

Leave a Reply

