Extraordinary Works

A great post by James, with verses I’m studying tonight. The quotes include what he says.

“Jesus said, “if you have faith like a grain of mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move, and nothing will be impossible for you.” (Matthew 17:20) In other words, through faith, extraordinary things will become ordinary.”

“The apostle James wrote that it was impossible to separate faith from works. “In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.” (James 2:17) We can’t even do ordinary good works without faith.”

“The apostle Paul had more works to his credit than just about anyone, but said, “Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own.” (Philippians 3:12-13) He humbly viewed his good actions to be a perfectly ordinary extension of his faith, and God was the only one capable of anything truly extraordinary.”

Leave a Reply

