Nerves

I’ve been 100% mentally, emotionally, spiritually ready to go… up until a couple days ago.

Some nerves are setting in.

I’m allowing myself to give up the idealized visions I’ve had of my daily life at the Home. And remembering how each volunteer I’ve talked to said it was the hardest thing they’ve ever done.

I’ve been appreciating sleep more than ever. Soaking in the silence of a quiet house. Enjoying the comfort of air conditioning.

But off I go so soon. Still feeling so excited. So blessed that my schedule and my current place in life allow me to do this. And trusting that these nerves will subside the minute I step foot inside those doors.

So… prayers…

praises:
+ Beth! We’ll meet up in Chicago and fly on from there together. I can tell our hearts are very much in the same place, and I’m looking forward to loving babies with her.
+ Past volunteers, and my cousins, Mike and Kristen, have  been so informative and supportive. I won’t know until I get there, but I have an idea of what to expect.

requests:
+ Safe, smooth travels as we journey to HoGL over a span of about 26 hours. I’ll have layovers in Chicago and Tokyo. Once in Taipei and through customs, a HoGL staff person will pick us up and we’ll drive a couple hours to the Home.
+ A quick, easy transition into life at the Home. We will be dealing with jet lag, heat, humidity, new faces, and new routines.

5 thoughts on “Nerves

  1. Prayers, prayers, and more prayers for you my dear Natalie! I’ve been thinking about you a lot! Do you have a mailing address over there yet?

  2. It will be fine! I promise! Those feelings quickly disappear once you are actually on your way! I definitely get exactly what you’re saying! Praying for you and Beth and everyone at the home!

  3. Natalie, we’ll be praying for you! Thanks for doing this and for being specific with your requests!

  4. I’ve been feeling the same way over the past couple days. I think it’s finally beginning to feel “real” now. I am so thankful for past and current volunteers too! They’ve helped so much! I’m so excited to finally meet you in 2 days!

Leave a Reply

