Awake, My Soul

Today was spent job shadowing a few social workers doing HOPES, an early childhood long-term prevention program.

They provide continuing in-home visits that begin prenatally and continue until the child is three years old. The social workers talk with moms about positive parenting and improving the health and development of their children, with the main goal being child abuse and neglect prevention.

The experience has been so encouraging and enlightening. I met several moms doing a great job parenting despite completely not great circumstances. And it just felt RIGHT to be in a social work setting.

There was a bit of time in college when my soul felt weary and discouraged. Multiple factors were contributing to this, but I know now one big factor was my lack of passion for the career path I was headed on.

While driving to another town for some client visits, one of my favorite songs by one of my favorite bands came on. I’ve heard it before, but it hit me extra hard with these thoughts of a past weary soul already on my mind.

In these bodies we will live, in these bodies we will die
Where you invest your love, you invest your life
Awake, my soul, awake my soul
Awake, my soul
You were made to meet your Maker
Awake, my soul, awake, my soul
[‘Awake My Soul‘ by Mumford & Sons]

One thought on “Awake, My Soul

  1. Wow. Good lyrics, Nat.
    “Where you invest your love, you invest your life.”
    I’m so happy that you’re starting to find purposes for the things you are doing! He had a plan all along 🙂

Leave a Reply

