Philippians 4:8 Thoughts

So, my thoughts on the verse. This may take a road you weren’t expecting.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. [Philippians 4:8]

It’s an honest truth that I’m very single at this point in my life. When I told my younger brother I was going to grad school, one of his first questions was to the effect of whether or not I would “find a husband there.”

And, really, yes, I hope I do! But I’ve felt that thought consuming my mind a bit too much since then. It’s a regular habit I so easily fall into amidst friends getting married and having babies. It’s easy to dream when you see examples of a life you desire right in front of you.

I’m on this never-ending road of learning what it means to submit all of me to God. And submitting my mind? That’s hard.

Luckily, I have had wonderful influences from women I’ve met through Salt. One shared the verse with me several years ago, as a checklist to go through in my mind whenever I feel myself excessively dreaming about that which I should not. The “whatever is true” part is usually an immediate kicker.

I have a hard time finding a nice balance between contentment in what I’ve been given and a longing for more. One of my favorite quotes from Elisabeth Elliot sums up that longing: “My heart was saying, ‘Lord, take away this longing, or give me that for which I long.’ The Lord was answering, ‘I must teach you to long for something better.’”

In recent years, I have longed deeply to become a  more God-honoring woman for the husband I may eventually have. There were (and still are) days when I’m embarrassed by my selfishness and lack of discipline. Many days passed leaving me feeling as if I’d make a crummy wife.

But lately, I’ve learned this: My motivation should not be that I need to improve myself in an effort to someday make a better wife. Those motives are all wrong. My “longing for something better” is a longing to be fully content in the love of my Lord and nothing else. To be okay with Him and just Him in my life. Especially now. And to long to be a better woman for Him and just Him. He deserves it more than any earthly man will.

One thought on “Philippians 4:8 Thoughts

Leave a Reply

