Childhood Relived

Hallie and I had a flashback of childhood this weekend. We went to Dylan’s Candy Bar, FAO Schwartz and the American Girl Doll Place.

The candy bar was packed with kids to pre-teens and their parents… then us. I couldn’t handle the craziness for too long, but I did love seeing every kind of candy imaginable.

candy! in the stairs!
candy! in the stairs!

FAO Schwartz was also packed. After eyeing the Barbie runway and lifelike baby dolls, I’m happy I now enjoy activities far beyond playing with toys.

toys at FAO, but also weird stuff for LotR fans
toys at FAO, but also weird stuff for LotR fans

The American Girl Doll Place was the most reminiscent — I easily spotted the “just like me” doll I have (or had?) with light skin, light brown hair and blue eyes. We saw all our old favorites… Addy, Kirsten, Samantha, Molly, Josefina. But now there are several I’ve never heard of… And a bunch of Bitty Babies! Never had one of those.

the babies I chose for myself at American Girl
the babies I chose for myself at American Girl

Several of us went to ‘Up‘ this weekend, as well. Highly recommended for anyone and everyone… It was just great. I wish my dogs could talk.

Leave a Reply

