Brevity

There is something so very direct and wonderful about telling a story in few words. Brevity is quite possibly one of my favorite things (along with patience, simplicity and perseverance). I can’t remember if it was my freshman year English literature class in which we read stories of 100 words or less or the very short stories piece in Wired magazine’s November 2006 issue that spurred this love of mine.

……….

The most famous of these:

For sale: baby shoes, never worn.  — Hemingway

……….

One Sentence: true stories told in one sentence.

culture shock… It was when my freshman year roommate asked where my summer house was that I realized I’d never fit in at college.

bored as mustard… I have three giant bruises and a bit of a bruised ego as proof that you can, in fact, forget how to ride a bicycle.

Lyv… It always brings a smile to my face when my dad tells large groups of strangers how he once cut himself on Jello.

Lars… We never did finish our campfire discussion over when coffee stops tasting like crap and starts to taste like coffee.

……….

Very Short Stories: 33 writers. 5 designers. 6-word science fiction. (slideshow of magazine spread here)

We kissed. She melted. Mop please! …James Patrick Kelly

With bloody hands, I say good-bye. …Frank Miller

It cost too much, staying human. …Bruce Sterling

Machine. Unexpectedly, I’d invented a time …Alan Moore

……….

Six Word Story: a Flickr group in which photos are posted with six word story titles.

……….

Books:

Micro Fiction: An Anthology of Really Short Stories (my English lit book)

The Best American Short Stories

Flash Fiction Forward

Not Quite What I Was Planning: Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous and Obscure

One thought on “Brevity

Leave a Reply

